PRESIDENTIAL ELECTIONS 1919-2006

Year, mode, and special modalities of election candidate	Names of candidates or persons otherwise supported by votes.	Number of ballots taken and votes cast for each or person in each ballot		
		I	II	III
1) In 1919 by Parliament for full term.	Ståhlberg	143		
Transitory provision, Constitution Act of 1919.	Mannerheim	50		
	Relander	1		
	Tanner	1		
2) In 1925 by Electoral College for full term. Two	Relander	69	97	172
of six parties participating nominated no	Ryti	33	104	109
Presidential candidate in advance.	Suolahti	68	80	
	Väisänen	16	16	
	Tanner	79	2	
	Söderholm	35		
3) In 1931 by Electoral College for full term. Two	Svinhufvud	88	98	151
of six parties participating nominated no	Ståhlberg	58	149	149
Presidential candidate in advance.	Kallio	64	53	
	Tanner	90		
4) In 1937 by Electoral College for full term. Two	Kallio	56	177	
parties nominated a joint, and one party no	Svinhufvud	94	104	
Presidential candidate in advance.	Ståhlberg	150	19	
5) In 1940 by Electoral College of 1937 for the	Ryti	288		
remainder of Kallio's term of office. Kallio resigned	Helo	4		
for reasons of health. Finland was at war.	Kivimäki	1		
	Svinhufvud	1		
6) In 1943 by Electoral College of 1937 for full	Ryti	269		
term. Finland was at war.	Kotilainen	4		

7) In 1944 President Ryti resigned. Parliament enacted a law of exception that designated Mannerheim President for full term of office. Finland signed armistice agreement terminating hostilities.				
8) In 1946 President Mannerheim resigned. Parliament enacted a law of exception that empowered it to elect President for the remainder of Mannerheim's term of office. In Parliament Paasikivi was elected with 159 votes, Ståhlberg received 14 votes.				
9) In 1950 by Electoral College for full term. Three parties nominated a joint, and one party no Presidential candidates in advance.	Paasikivi Pekkala Kekkonen	171 67 62		
10) In 1956 by Electoral College for full term. All parties nominated Presidential candidates in advance. No joint candidatures.	Kekkonen Fagerholm Tuomioja/Paasikivi	88 72 57	102 114 84 1)	151 149
¹⁾ Paasikivi was not officially nominated candidate. He received 84 votes in the second ballot and officially nominated candidate Tuomioja none.	Kilpi Törngren Rydman	56 20 7		
11) In 1962 by Electoral College for full term. Three parties nominated a joint candidate in	Kekkonen Aitio	199 62		
advance, but split about the candidature. One party nominated no, and three parties one candidate each in advance. Crisis in foreign policy coincided.	Paasio Skog	37 2		

12) In 1968 by Electoral College for full term. Four parties nominated a joint, two parties their own, and one party no Presidential candidate in advance.	Kekkonen Virkkunen Vennamo	201 66 33	
13) In 1973 Parliament enacted a law of exception that extended Kekkonen's term of office by four years until 1978 with 170 votes in favour, 28 against, and one abstention.			
14) In 1978 by Electoral College for full term. Six parties nominated a joint, and three parties each their own Presidential candidate in advance.	Kekkonen Westerholm Vennamo Salonen	259 25 10 6	
15) In 1982 by Electoral College (now 301 electors) for full term. President Kekkonen resigned before the expiry of his term of office for reasons of health. Eight parties nominated Presidential candidates in advance, and two took part in Electoral College election supporting two of those candidates.	Koivisto Holkeri Virolainen Kivistö Jansson Sipilä	167 58 53 11 11 1	

16) In 1988 by Electoral College for full term. Two parties nominated a joint candidate, three parties each their own candidate. According to the constitutional amendment of 1987 the President had to be elected amongst the officially nominated candidates either directly by receiving at least 50% + 1 vote of all votes cast in popular ballot or failing that by Electoral College to be elected simultaneously. No candidate received the required majority support in direct voting.

	Direct popular vote		Vote by Electoral College	
Candidate	No of votes	% of votes	I	II
Koivisto	1 513 234	47,9	144	189
Väyrynen	636 375	20,2	68	68

Holkeri	570 340	18,1	63	18
Kivistö	330 072	10,5	26	26
Kajanoja	44 428	1,4	0	0
Total number of votes	3 158 090 or	78,2 %		

17) In 1994 election with direct popular vote in two consecutive rounds of voting for first full term. Eleven Presidential candidates were eligible for the first round: seven nominated by a political party and four by an eligible voter associations (VA).

The result of the first round on 16 January 1994:				
Candidate	No of votes	% of votes		
Martti Ahtisaari (SDP)	828 038	25,9 %		
Elisabeth Rehn (RKP)	702 211	22,0 %		
Paavo Väyrynen (KESK)	623 415	19,5 %		
Raimo Ilaskivi (KOK)	485 035	15,2 %		
Keijo Korhonen (VA)	186 936	5,8 %		
Claes Andersson (VAS)	122 820	3,8 %		
Pertti Virtanen (VA)	95 650	3,0 %		
Eeva Kuuskoski (VA)	82 453	2,6 %		
Toimi Kankaanniemi (KRIST)	31 453	1,0 %		
Sulo Aittoniemi (SMP)	30 622	1,0 %		
Pekka Tiainen (VA)	7 320	0,2 %		
Total number of votes	3 195 953 or	78,4 %		
No candidate received the electable majority of the votes cast in the first round.				
The result of the second round on 6 February 1994:				
Candidate	No of votes	% of votes		
Martti Ahtisaari	1 722 313	53,9 %		
Elisabet Rehn	1 475 856	46,1 %		
Total number of votes	3 198 169 or	78,7 %		

The result of the first round on 16 January 1994:

18) In 2000 election with direct popular vote in two consecutive rounds of voting seven Presidential candidates nominated by a political party were eligible for the first round.

The result of the first round on 16 January 2000:			
Candidate	No of votes	% of votes	
Tarja Halonen (SDP)	1224063	40,0 %	
Esko Aho (KESK)	1051123	34,4	
Riitta Uosukainen (KOK)	391852	12,8 %	
Elisabeth Rehn (RKP)	241739	7,9 %	
Heidi Hautala (VIHR)	100731	3,3 %	
Ilkka Hakalehto (PS)	31362	1,0 %	
Risto Kuisma (REM)	16919	0,6 %	
Total number of votes	3 057789 or	76,9 %	
No candidate received the electable majority of the votes cast in the first round.			
The result of the second round on 6 February 2000:			
Candidate	No of votes	% of votes	
Tarja Halonen	1 644 532	51,6 %	
Esko Aho	1 540 803	48,4 %	
Total number of votes	3 185 335 or	80,2 %	

19) In 2006 election with direct popular vote in two consecutive rounds of voting eight Presidential candidates were eligible for the first round: seven nominated by a political party and one by an eligible voter association (VA).

The result of the first round on 15 January 2006:

Candidate	No of votes	% of votes
Tarja Halonen (SDP)	1 397 030	46,3 %
Sauli Niinistö (KOK)	725 866	24,1 %
Matti Vanhanen (KESK)	561 990	18,6 %
Heidi Hautala (VIHR)	105 248	3,5 %
Timo Soini (PS)	103 492	3,4 %
Bjarne Kallis (KD)	61 483	2,0 %
Henrik Lax (RKP)	48 703	1,6 %
Arto Lahti (VA)	12 989	0,4%

Total number of votes	3 016 801 or	73,9 %	
No candidate received the electable majority of the votes cast in the first round.			
The result of the second round on 29 January 2006:			
Candidate	No of votes	% of votes	
Tarja Halonen	1 630 980	51,8 %	
Sauli Niinistö	1 518 333	48,2 %	
Total number of votes	3 149 313 or	77,2 %	